The crisis continues: 6-year-old injured by driver while walking across SE Division

Posted on April 30th, 2019 at 8:10 am.

The driver sped around stopped cars and struck the girl in the bike lane on the left. (Note that the westbound bike lane on the right is protected.)

Another person has been hit trying to walk across a notoriously dangerous street in Portland. This time it was a six-year-old girl who was walking with her mom on Southeast Division Avenue. [Read more…]

Here’s why I think we should change stop sign laws for bicycle users

Posted on April 22nd, 2019 at 10:32 am.

KATU’s Steve Dunn and I in an interview that aired over the weekend. Watch video below.

Bicycles and cars are vastly different types of vehicles and our laws should do more to reflect that.

That’s just one of many reasons I strongly support Senate Bill 998 currently working its way through the Oregon Legislature. The bill would allow bicycle users to treat stop signs and flashing red signals as yield signs (also known as “Idaho Stop” for a similar law on the books in Idaho for over 30 years). In other words, you’d only have to come to a complete when it was necessary due to oncoming traffic or some other safety-related condition. The law does not allow dangerous behavior and specifically requires bicycle users to slow to a “safe speed.”

As per usual, this reasonable concept causes many people to freak out. I went on local TV to try and calm some nerves and explain why I support the bill.[Read more…]

Guest Opinion: Losing the 7th Avenue greenway

Posted on March 21st, 2019 at 9:51 am.

This post from Kiel Johnson comes in response to news announced today that the Portland Bureau of Transportation has decided to route the Lloyd to Woodlawn Neighborhood Greenway on 9th Avenue.

“9th Avenue will become the greenway.”

The words put finality on years of advocacy, countless hours spent knocking on doors, talking with neighbors, making yard signs, and writing letters. This past Sunday my living room was overflowing with my fellow neighbors and their children who live on 7th. They had come hoping to hear something different. Nick Falbo, the PBOT project manager, had come to deliver to news. A member of one family immediately walked out the door. No one knew quite what to do next.
[Read more…]

Guest Opinion: A year of bad headlines for freeway expansion

Posted on February 18th, 2019 at 9:48 am.

— Written by Shawn Fleek (OPAL Environmental Justice Oregon), Mary Peveto (Neighbors for Clean Air), and Anaïs Tuepker (350PDX).

In 2017, the nascent No More Freeways coalition published an editorial in The Oregonian asking elected officials for an honest reassessment of the Oregon Department of Transportation (ODOT)’s plans to spend hundreds of millions of dollars to expand the Rose Quarter Freeway in North Portland.

Since then, headlines over the last eighteen months have only confirmed that this is a gravely misguided project.
[Read more…]

Opinion: Why words matter in police statements about traffic crashes

Posted on February 4th, 2019 at 2:47 pm.

Scottie Graser died after a collision with a truck driver while he was riding on Highway 30 on January 13th.

Most people think it was his fault.

The truth is, we don’t yet know exactly what happened. So why do most people blame Graser? Because the Oregon State Police said so.

The official crash statement released by the OSP a mere six hours after the collision read, “Preliminary investigation reveals… Graser… entered the eastbound right lane and a collision occurred.”
[Read more…]

Opinion: Portland’s scooter success exposes stark double standard

Posted on January 18th, 2019 at 8:57 am.

Scooter riders in the mix of traffic in downtown Portland.
(Photo: Jonathan Maus/BikePortland)

*This post is by Joe Cortright and was originally published by City Observatory.

Data shows Portland’s scooter experiment worked. Maybe it’s time to critically appraise the failed, 110-year experiment with cars.
[Read more…]

Opinion: Let’s focus on the system, not on “them”

Posted on October 5th, 2018 at 2:54 pm.

Blatant attempt to inject something beautiful into the news cycle.
(Photo: Jonathan Maus/BikePortland)

After what transpired in Washington DC this week I’m feeling a horrible mix of emotions: Sadness, disgust, frustration, paralysis, hatred, and anger.
[Read more…]

Better Naito is Portland’s future. It’s time to embrace it

Posted on September 18th, 2018 at 10:21 am.

*Video montage of Better Naito in action this summer courtesy of Streetfilms.

Today is an opportunity to demand better biking in Portland.
[Read more…]

Guest post: Time to design streets with the ‘Worst Portlander’ in mind

Posted on September 7th, 2018 at 10:40 am.

(Photo: Jonathan Maus/BikePortland)

We received this open letter to Mayor Ted Wheeler via email yesterday. The source is a longtime Portlander and former land-use planner who requested to remain anonymous.
[Read more…]

Opinion: Helmets, sidewalks, Segways, other thoughts on e-scooters

Posted on August 3rd, 2018 at 12:43 pm.

They’re already proving popular.
(Click to enlarge and read captions)
(Photos: Jonathan Maus)

I was out of town when e-scooters launched in Portland last week, so yesterday was my first chance to observe them.
[Read more…]