BTA elections net eight new board members

The Bicycle Transportation Alliance announced today that following a vote last month, their Board of Directors now has eight new members. The BTA received a record number of ballots with 486 people weighing in. The new board members will be seated officially on October 26th and they join six existing members who were re-elected.

Here are the eight new members of the BTA Board of Directors:

This is a group with a diverse perspective on bicycling that, when mixed with the 12 current members of the BTA Board, should make for some interesting discussions and outcomes. Of particular note are noted architect and urban planner Rick Potestio, Oregon Bicycle Racing Association Director Kenji Sugahara, 2009 Spirit of Potland Award Winner and noted business community leader Randy Miller, and bike shop co-owner and family biking advocate Martina Fahrner.

Potestio is credited as the founder of the Cross Crusade and is a key figure in the Better Burnside Alliance, a group pushing an alternative to Mayor Adams’ plan for the West Burnside/Couch Couplet project (making it more bike-friendly, among other things). Salem-based Kenji Sugahara presides over a booming statewide racing scene. Randy Miller is a former chairman of the Portland Chamber of Commerce and one of the Portland’s most well-known and respected business leaders. Martina Fahrner is co-owner of Clever Cycles in Southeast Portland who has been a tireless advocate and spokesperson for family cycling.

The BTA Board of Directors now has 20 members (two former members, John Beaston and Paul Adkins, chose not to run again), the largest it has ever been and the maximum size allowed by their bylaws.

BTA Executive Director Rob Sadowsky says this election signals “continued growth” in their organization. “We continue to add a wide breadth of skills, energies, and knowledge that will help ensure the success of our work… We are truly honored that this group is stepping up to the plate to help lead BTA.”

Exit mobile version