Portland Bike Forums (by BikePortland.org)

Go Back   Portland Bike Forums (by BikePortland.org) > General Discussion > Tips & Advice
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 05-18-2007, 10:03 AM
Site Admin

Default Is biking downtown legal?

Hi,
I'm new to commuting to work downtown. I was biking home yesterday going down 4th at Salmon riding in the middle of my lane when a parked car pulled out into my lane and almost ran me over. I was upset so at the next red light I pulled up along side, banged on the drivers window and told him he almost killed me. His response was: "you shouldn't be riding in the street."

He said bikes are not allowed in the street. I yelled at him some more and told him to be more careful. My question is: are bikes allowed in the street in downtown portland? I always assumed there were because there are so many.

Thanks,
Ender
Old 05-18-2007, 10:22 AM
Site Admin

Default driver was full of it

the driver was way wrong. you especially belong on the street downtown, the only area where we're not also allowed on sidewalks.

bikes are legally the same as cars, with a few exceptions giving us *more* freedom than cars (such as passing on the right, carefully).

that driver was just making up laws to suit his opinion.

sorry you had that rough experience, but once you get the hang of it, biking downtown's not too bad. fourth is usually good (the lights are pretty nicely timed for my cautious bike speed), but as you learned the hard way, you do have to really keep your eye on the parked cars, as well as people turning right onto fourth and people coming out of parking garages.
Old 05-18-2007, 03:13 PM
Site Admin

Default Be cautious on the fourth