Portland Bike Forums (by BikePortland.org)

Go Back   Portland Bike Forums (by BikePortland.org) > General Discussion > Report your Close Calls
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 04-20-2007, 08:41 AM
Site Admin

Default 53rd & Baseline Hillsboro

I am posting this email that a coworker sent to me. It is the email that he sent to TriMet.
------
Hello Trimet,

I am a fairly new bicyclist, riding for the last 3 weeks and commuting to work each day. I have read bicycle safety guides, but I am still learning the laws pertaining to bicycle lanes and related right of way.

During my commute, I use the bicycle lane along Baseline between Brookwood in Hillsboro and Murray in Beaverton. A problem that I encounter routinely is vehicles that do not obey the bicycle lane laws, often not yielding the right of way. I have come accustomed to this behavior from the regular drivers, and have learned to ride defensively. Even then, I find the ride more dangerous than it should be mainly because drivers overall are not aware of cyclists.

When Trimet bus drivers, who supposedly are professionally trained, exhibit the same careless behavior relative to cyclists and bicycle lanes, it becomes even more dangerous for cyclists.

This morning at approximately 6:50AM I was in the eastbound bike lane on W Baseline approaching NE 53rd ave. The road terrain was an incline, so I was up out of the saddle peddling hard as I approached the intersection. The light was green for me. I was nearly at the intersection when a trimet bus slowed along my left side, then the front of the bus swung directly into my pathway, completely blocking the bike lane. The rear of the bus never left the main lane of W Baseline. Only the front of the bus was swung in towards the curb.