Portland Bike Forums (by BikePortland.org)

Go Back   Portland Bike Forums (by BikePortland.org) > General Discussion > Tips & Advice
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 11-21-2006, 04:35 PM
Site Admin

Default single speed gear ratio

I just ordered a new wheel set and want to switch up my gear ratio. My current gear ratio is 46/16. I am looking for a little easier of a gear. I am sticking with 46 and thinking of getting a 17 tooth freewheel. Will that make a big difference? I am looking for an easier gear to pull hills, but don't want to spin too much.
Is there an effective tool cyclist use to find which gear ratio work best for their needs?

peace
Old 11-22-2006, 09:43 AM
The Management
Site Admin

I'm looking for the same info!

My new bike is a 42-16 and it's killing my knees. I live in North Portland so I have a hill to contend with almost every time I ride.

I'm looking at an 18T cog.

This is my first-ever singlespeed so I'm a newbie at all this.

any info would be appreciated.
Old 11-22-2006, 10:14 AM
Site Admin

Default Ratio

I recommend a 44/18 ratio. It won't kill your knees, spins fast enough, and works on hills.
Old 11-22-2006, 12:26 PM
Site Admin

Default 42 by 18

for general riding, most road riders (dudes and dudettes in spandex) ride a 42 18 or around 63 to 65 inches. this allows for 80 to 100 rpms at 15-20 mph.
i ride this for hours on end. you do need to spin like a mofo going downhills, but thats good for you. you shouldnt have knee problems (tendonitis) with this small of a gear.
If you do have to climb, and you ride this bike for more than 20 minutes at a time try to keep the gear ratio around 65 (thats what lance trained on).
this ratio is smaller than what most messengers ride on, but riding an 85 inch gear is for the track, not for traffic.
another plus of the small gear is that its easier to break loose and skid.