Portland Bike Forums (by BikePortland.org)

Go Back   Portland Bike Forums (by BikePortland.org) > General Discussion > Tips & Advice
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 10-08-2006, 08:04 PM
Site Admin

Default Rain Gear

I've been commuting by bike 5 miles to and from work for the past 4-5 months. I've enjoyed it so much that I sold my commuter car and plan to bike all through the winter. So far for rain gear I've got a nice waterproof jacket, waterproof pants, and a helmut cover. I'm planning on picking up gloves this week.

What I'm wondering about are shoes... The first day I road in the rain, my shoes were soaked by the time I got to work (and they were still wet when I left that evening). I tried on a pair of waterproof "booties", but I can't see them being very comfortable, or even lasting more than a few rides. I'm wondering about waterproof socks. Do you just sacrafice the shoes and keep your feet dry? Are there any better options?

Also, when it's been foggy in the morning, my eye glasses mist over as soon as I get going. I need them to see, unfortunatly. Is there a trick to keeping them dry while riding? Just carry a towel?

Thanks
J
Old 10-08-2006, 08:15 PM
Site Admin

I pack an extra pair of shoes and socks. I go glasses free.
Old 10-09-2006, 07:16 AM
Site Admin

I wore a set of neoprene booties all winter last year. While they arent totally waterproof, and I would be skeptical of any brand claiming to be so- especially if you ride clipless pedals, they did make a vast difference. Not only with wet feet, but keeping your feet warm once you have wet shoes. They are shot this year so I will have to get a new pair, but theyre a good investment. The brand I bought was some italian brand that velcroed in the back.