Portland Bike Forums (by BikePortland.org)

Go Back   Portland Bike Forums (by BikePortland.org) > General Discussion > General Discussion
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 10-05-2006, 10:33 AM
Site Admin

Angry Recovering stolen bikes

So I've had some recent experiences that have got me thinking...
First I see a guy on the MAX yellow line with a brand new Giant MTB, he looks like he can't afford it, he won't put it on the bike hook despite the fact that there's no one using it, won't make eye contact...you see where I'm going? THEN he sees a trimet security guy on the platform, mind you the security guy does NOT get on, but this guy is so freaked out that he shoves past as the doors are closing, rides in front of traffic on interstate, and procceeds the wrong way up the bike lane checking over his shoulder. YEAH. pretty sure that's not his bike.
Second I see a guy at the 82nd max platform pushing a black bike. may have been a trek. It's got aero bars on it, clip pedals...and the guy is wearing dickies, not wearing clip shoes, is a little out of shape to be riding a bike with AERO bars...you know how those hurt your back if you're not in great shape? Then I see him at safeway with my wife...we ask him where he got his bike, "my dad built it for me", do the aero's hurt at all, "no, not really", how is it riding the clips without the shoes, "what are clips?". Again, probably not his bike.
I'm sure some of you have had similar instances. What would you do if you're pretty sure a bike is stolen. Yell "bike thief!!!" really loud? Try to stop them from going somewhere? Call the police, knowing the thief will be gone when the get there? I just hate to see bike thieves get away with this s***. I've had a bike stolen (hasn't everyone?) and want to help others get their bikes back. what do you think?
Old 10-05-2006, 02:10 PM
Site Admin

Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeW View Post