Portland Bike Forums (by BikePortland.org)

Go Back   Portland Bike Forums (by BikePortland.org) > General Discussion > General Discussion
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 07-06-2012, 10:37 AM
Site Admin

Default Looking for links to all trails

I'm new to biking and still finding my way around. Is there a very good source online to scope out all the trails and dedicated cycle roads through the Portland area? A google search seems to bring a lot of fractious information. In a city so completely obsessed with both cycling AND tech, you would think a greenhorn like myself wouldn't have to do a lot of looking.
Old 07-06-2012, 12:35 PM
Site Admin

Google maps, turn on the bicycle overlay.
Metro Bike There map
Bikely.com
Ridewithgps.com

And, no, that isn't the best road to the coast. Hints: hwy 6, or Little Nestucca Rd. Or to Astoria via hwy 202/Olney.
Old 07-06-2012, 12:37 PM
Site Admin

Y'know, a list of online maps for the region would be a good "sticky" thread in the Route Info section! Maybe stick this thread over there? <paging Forum Admin, Forum Admin to the courtesy phone...>

Anyway, Jeff posted several URLs for maps of the Pacific Northwest the other day. This one in particular covers Portland and surrounding counties, including Washington State and some routes to the coast that you also asked about:

http://www.portlandonline.com/transp...x.cfm?c=34809&

Vancouver has this trails map for Clark County, WA:

http://www.cityofvancouver.us/parks-...ap%20FINAL.pdf
Old 07-06-2012, 12:37 PM
Site Admin

You can also search the forums; we've had this discussion many times, and there's lots of good information here.
Old 07-10-2012, 07:37 AM
Site Admin

I sure wish agencies would standardize descriptors to indicate paved/improved, but not paved/dirt. On the Vancouver map, Tarbell Trail is superfun mountain bike action with some good singletrack, whereas the Salmon Creek Trail is 6' wide and paved all the way.