Portland Bike Forums (by BikePortland.org)

Go Back   Portland Bike Forums (by BikePortland.org) > General Discussion > General Discussion
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 09-08-2006, 01:46 PM
Site Admin

Default the fixed gear/brake thing and stop signs

I read in the portland paper today about the court cases regarding brakes on fixed gear bikes. i am confused somewhat. When i was a kid we had something called a coaster brake on our bikes. Do the current fixed gears have this feature? I have hand brakes on all my bikes cause they are multi geared.
I rode mountain bikes during the 10 years i was a bike cop.
So how do you stop if you dont have any brakes and if you have a coaster brake( i think it is called that ) why the hassle about hand brakes.
Secondly the laws in the state of Md require bikes to behave and abide by the traffic laws as cars , the speed limits are not there . what are the laws in OR?
i have been a police for over 35 years and i dont remember ever giving a ticket for a bike running a stop sign. They do and it is a danger and it is against oour laws. My officers did enforce that law at times but there was usually other violations to go along with it or an accident where the bike rider was at fault.
I am in Portland to go on the cycle Or ride with my sister ( in a moment of insanity i committed to this)
Hey are there any police here, i have been here several days and havent seen one. just my thoughts
Igor Sgt. Ret. Anne Arundel County POlice dept, Bike officer Ret. University of Md POlice currently AA County deputy Sheriff
Old 09-08-2006, 02:15 PM
Site Admin

"So how do you stop if you dont have any brakes and if you have a coaster brake( i think it is called that ) why the hassle about hand brakes."