Portland Bike Forums (by BikePortland.org)

Go Back   Portland Bike Forums (by BikePortland.org) > General Discussion > Tips & Advice
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 08-15-2006, 04:33 PM
Site Admin

Default What Do You Use For Lights And Reflectors?

I recently started riding my bike to work/back. I go in early, 5AM-ish, so it is dark. Later in the year it'll be dark when I return home. So, lighting, reflectivity and general safety are on my mind.

What do you night-time bike commuters use for lights, reflectors, etc? Do you use a helmet-mounted headlight or taillight, or a bike-mounted? Any reflective clothing or tape?
Old 08-16-2006, 02:34 PM
Site Admin

Front - Handlebar mounted Cygolite, with battery pack in a water bottle cage. If it's a really low visibility morning, I might attach my small single LED headlamp to my helmet on blink mode.

Rear - Bike mounted red flasher, and red flasher on my commuter bag. With both flashing, they are out of sequence; it's been suggested to me that this helps draw even more attention.

Reflector - Rain jacket has semi-reflective sleeves, and commuter bag is semi-reflective.

Good luck out there!
Old 08-18-2006, 10:29 AM
Site Admin

I also have the Cygolight headlight attached to my handlebars. It's got high beam/low beam capabilities, which I really LOVE. On the Night Ride, I got lots of compliments about the strength of the beam on the low setting.

I have two rear blinking lights that don't blink with any sort of rhythm.

I have left the reflectors on the bike that came with the bike: one mounted on the front spokes, one mounted on the rear spokes, on one the handlebars, one on the seatpost. And on the pedals, they're flat on one side and clippy on the other. Since I'm a clippy novice!

I have a vest with reflective stripes on it, and generally try to wear light colored clothing. My shoes also have reflective bits.