Portland Bike Forums (by BikePortland.org)

Go Back   Portland Bike Forums (by BikePortland.org) > General Discussion > Route Info
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 07-09-2009, 07:19 AM
Site Admin

Default Powell to OHSU lower tram?

Hello,
I just moved here a couple weeks ago, and I'm a novice cyclist. I'm trying to figure out how to bike to the lower tram from my house near Milwaukee and Powell. I have seen some info on here about the Ross Island Bridge and how confusing/dangerous it is, but I still am not sure what exactly you'd do if you were coming west across the bridge and needed to get down to the tram.
I am aware of two options: avoid the whole thing and go up to the Hawthorne bridge instead. Or, I guess I could come off the bridge and go north to the Kelly & Corbett bus 19 stop, then turn right and take the sidewalk down Macadam Ave (I'd be going the opposite direction of traffic and dodging pedestrians though).
Does anyone else have a better route? Thank you.
Old 07-09-2009, 08:46 AM
Site Admin

I would reccommend going over the Hawthorne Bridge, then heading south along the waterfront. follow the marked signs, go through the roundabout near mcCormick and Schmicks and keep heading south. Soon you'll see the streetcar tracks. Careful! Follow these east and then south and they take you right to the tram. There are few to no cars on this route and there's a really pretty poppy field right before the tram entrance. Don't go over the Ross Island bridge.

have fun

h
Old 07-09-2009, 09:01 AM
Site Admin

Since you're new here there's a chance you might not be aware of this great online tool:

http://www.bycycle.org/regions/portlandor

You can click on the "Find a route" tab along the top, enter in two addresses, and it will give you a route to your destination that's as bike-friendly as possible.

Scott
Old 07-09-2009, 09:48 AM
Site Admin

Default slightly roundabout, but safe: