Portland Bike Forums (by BikePortland.org)

Go Back   Portland Bike Forums (by BikePortland.org) > General Discussion > Newbie Forum
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 08-13-2008, 01:11 AM
Site Admin

Question Need a bike!!!

I Dont have a bike but we like one to start riding. The problem is i dont know what i want and most of the bikes i've looked at i cant afford cause im a college student and moneys a little tight....
just wondering if you guys have any ideas on cheap bikes or any places that have deals going on

Last edited by K'Tesh; 08-15-2008 at 10:19 AM. Reason: removed hyphen from big smile
Old 08-13-2008, 06:23 AM
Site Admin

Default best bike deals

Your best bet is probably going to be a used bike.

First figure out what your budget is, don't forget to leave some money for accesories like bike locks and helmets. Then figure out what type of bike you want: road, mountain, touring, hybrid etc. After that do a little research on bike fitting and get a rough idea of what size a bike you will need.
Finally, find your bike. Hit garage sales, Craigs list, the Community Cycling Center etc, anywhere used bikes are for sale. Most important thing is to ride as many as you can so you can really find the one that has the best feel.
Old 08-13-2008, 03:57 PM
Site Admin

In fact, CCC is having a sale this very weekend:

http://www.communitycyclingcenter.org/

DIY Oversupply Tent Sale This Weekend

Stop by the Community Cycling Center and pick up a reasonably-priced grocery-getter, playa bike, or college cruiser.

Save big on pre-loved, commuter-style bicycles in need of a little tender loving care on Saturday, August 16th and Sunday, August 17th. The majority of these are 21-speed mountain bikes ready for a city commuter conversion.