Portland Bike Forums (by BikePortland.org)

Go Back   Portland Bike Forums (by BikePortland.org) > General Discussion > Newbie Forum
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 07-20-2008, 04:05 PM
Site Admin

Default For "What to Do"

Per the comments made in Jonathan's latest blog entry:

Quote:
Originally Posted by WhatToDo
hello, I'm new to having a bicycle. And I find that there is not enough in formation for newbies for any area having to do with riding.Some is common sense but some is experience. It would be nice to know things like How not to get your bike stolen? How to lock it up properly? Where is it safe or unsafe to go with your bike? What your tire pressure supposed to at? Is there a seat that doesn't hurt women?I don't know I just feel a bit lost with this whole experience of riding.I'm disappointed in the shop I bought my bike at for not taking any interest in my inexperience with riding..The internet is great but it would have been nice if that shop was more interested in my safety now just my $$.
Feel free to post questions or just chat in the forum area, and one of us will certainly be happy to chime in with what info we may have. To get the ball rolling...

How not to get your bike stolen

Not an easy answer. Most I can say is get a good sturdy lock (that is, a U-lock type or a heavy chain, do NOT use a cable lock unless you are certain you will be within eyesight of your bike). Take any easily-removed components (headlights, etc) with you when you park the bike.