Portland Bike Forums (by BikePortland.org)

Go Back   Portland Bike Forums (by BikePortland.org) > General Discussion > Tips & Advice
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 05-19-2008, 08:55 AM
Site Admin

Default Group ride ettiquette

I commute every day over Bull Mountain, 20 miles round trip. I like to add 10 or 15 miles a day, so I head up for even more hill-climbing excitement on three or four days a week. I probably average about 150 miles of hills per week.

So, I did my first 100 mile ride Saturday at Reach the Beach in just over 6 hours. Yay! I've never done a group ride before, and had a perplexing experience. I'm plugging away on my 20-year-old no-shock mountain bike / commuting bike. I'm averaging about 17 miles per hour at the 75-mile point, just past Grande Ronde. There were a series of hills there, and group of about 15 in a line kept catching up to me on the flats. Three or four would bass me, and move just in front of me. Obviously, even on 26" wheels and staying several feet behind they picked up my pace. Everytime we hit the hills I'd pass them because they couldn't (or wouldn't) sustain my hill-climbing pace. After about 15 miles of this, one of the guys starts bitching at me saying that its "really rude" to move in and out of a line. Then spent about the next five minutes bitching to his buddies. So, what the heck was I doing wrong, if anything? Seems to me that it was these guys obligation to either pass me as a group or stop passing me. They obviously weren't really helping my time out. Thoughts?
Old 05-19-2008, 09:14 AM
Site Admin

Default no, you weren't rude.

BTW, congratulations on doing RTB. I spent the entire day trying to drink enough water and use enough sunscreen. The weather isn't usually quite so perfect.