Portland Bike Forums (by BikePortland.org)

Go Back   Portland Bike Forums (by BikePortland.org) > General Discussion > Tips & Advice
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 03-27-2008, 08:05 AM
Site Admin

Default New Biker - need advice - bike/route

Hello to everyone, I have been reading a few posts and felt it was time I joined in. Starting off, I am new to the bike scene (and do not have a bike yet)... I am looking for a good commuter bike and at times have the flexibility to do a bit more trail rides with my kids. I don't need a hard core mt. bike though.

Mostly I will be riding from milwaulkie to clackamas to work (4.5 miles). So I am looking for a good day to day bike. 7+ speed - with room for a bag or rack. I havn't been a regular biker for a long time so I guess I am just looking for hits and ideas. I figured I would drop by a bike shop and ask some questions of the staff also (any good recommendations for that?)

Next I am concerned about finding the "best" way to ride to work. I live about 5 blocks off of 224 (expressway) - near providence hosp. and I work in clackamas - off 82nd drive next to I-205 (the "jem-top / "matress world" area). In doing a bike route map - a link from a thread here - The route takes me out to springwater trail - then up to I-205 near johnson creek. This is about double my straight line drive into work. Is there any reason not to ride down 224? OR if I cut through international way and then onto 224 for the last third of the trip over?

I am not familiar with the biking habits of the area so I am unsure of any "do's or dont's" and for whatever reasons those feeling apply. It just seems like the straight shot would be best in my case... given that MOST of 224 on the route has a large shoulder.

Anyhow... insight is needed and appreciated. Thanks for reading~!

-d
Old 03-27-2008, 09:56 AM
Site Admin

Torg,