Portland Bike Forums (by BikePortland.org)

Go Back   Portland Bike Forums (by BikePortland.org) > General Discussion > General Discussion
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 07-01-2012, 03:24 PM
Site Admin

Default P-town to V-c loop...

I'm new to cycling and have rode down a few dead ends while getting my bearings, but its rare I look at those days as an empty experience... however. Returning from a simple looking 25 mile loop through two states left me feeling rattled and home bound for several days. I plan most of these rides with a glance at Google maps to find my streets and rough distances, but always with the understanding that covering new territory can be challenging at best and occasionally downright dangerous. Now, when your DRIVING over the I-5 bridge, you have little chance to take in view's of the river or Mt Hood, but you might think to yourself it could make for a nice ride someday. But I found access to the bridge loud and claustrophobic, but told myself the ride up river though Washington could make the crossing worth the ruckus. And the western end heading to the 205 was a nice enough ride but I soon found myself hopelessly lost and had to back track several miles after a wrong turn. Eager to find my way out I took the first thing that looked inviting, only to find myself on the shoulder of the 14 approaching exit 3. I decided to stay the course to the 205 and found this bridge to be just as loud, though much safer than straddling the third lane of the 14. And though I'm grateful for the pedestrian access provided by federal planners, there really wasn't much to be seen from the center causeway and with winds carrying dust and debris at me, I really couldn't get off of the structure quickly enough. Once again in Portland, on the ample and expansive series of safe, pleasant and soothing cycling paths, I opted to limp home with the beginnings of a pinched nerve in my neck. There must be a better way than t