PDA

View Full Version : Buying used vs fixing up

firemaplegirl
11-15-2006, 10:53 PM
Thanks to everyone who responded to my last post (http://www.bikeportland.org/forum/showthread.php?t=586). It really appreciate the encouragement.

After looking at some pricing, in order to get the tires and brakes on a old mountain bike into working order it would be around $80. It doesn't have fenders, so getting those and lights would be an additional expense. (I realize they're not terribly expensive, but I'm a starving student so every penny counts.) The bike is one I inherited and never used, so I'm not particularly attached to it.

Someone suggested that instead of investing money in upgrading that bike, I buy an inexpensive one speed cruiser on craigslist for my short commute. Does this seem like a good idea? And what do I look for/check if I do go that route? I don't want to buy something and then find out that I'm not any better off than before.

Thanks!

monsieurcris
11-16-2006, 09:42 AM
I dont think the single speed cruiser is really a better idea. First, theyre usually fairly heavy. Second, if you have a hill on your commute or plan on expanding your milage soon hauling a heavy one speed is going to be a brutal way to start. Yes, a lot of them come with fenders and other goodies like baskets, but I dont think it is worth it. Keep and eye on CL and there may be a good commuter for fairly cheap. Dont count on finding it all (fenders, good brakes, light weight, lights, etc) on one bike, but perhaps you could find one that is better than what you have. Stick to your guns and your price and eventually something may come up.