PDA

View Full Version : New NoPo cycle shop, and my experience there

tvhwy
09-09-2006, 11:35 PM
Hi all,

I'm in the market for a basic commuter bike, something inexpensive and comfy for my 5 miles daily round trip between MAX and the office. My list of shops to visit includes the Bike Collective (the one with the Annex on SE Ankeny -- whatever the name), Sellwood Bike, River City, and the Community Cycling Center: stores with good reps (right?), at least one of which gives me a BTA discount on accessories.

I think biking is tons of fun; I do it as much as possible. I enthusiatically support BTA's advocacy efforts. But when it comes to the nuts and bolts of the machines, I'm a newbie. I couldn't fix a flat, nevermind tell ya why carbon frames are desirable. (Are they lighter?)

Late last night, on a jaunt to Alberta Street, I came across a cycle shop on the corner of Vancouver and Killingsworth. It was called The Cycling Center. The storefront was new and shiny, as were the bikes behind the window, some of which I could see were in my price range. So I dropped by this afternoon for some test riding.

My clerk was a polite young guy with glasses. He asked me if I wanted a mountain bike, road bike, touring bike, ... . I said I didn't know; whatever was good for commuting. He asked me if I wanted thicker tires for a more comfortable ride or thinner ones for more speed. I said I was going to be biking a pretty smooth roads, and I didn't know what an uncomfortable bike ride was supposed to feel like. So thinner was fine, I said.

No used bikes at this small corner store, unfortunately. But they have a good range of prices.

Among the bikes to which the clerk introduced me was a shaft drive. They had several such bikes on hand -- maybe a third of total stock. The clerk explained that these were cleaner and required almost no maintenance. Just inject more grease back there every few years, that's it.