PDA

View Full Version : Hauling - cargo bikes and trailers

resopmok
11-20-2010, 11:54 AM
So, I'm a recently new homeowner and did some heavy remodelling which required things like full sheets of plywood/sheetrock and 10ft+ boards of varying sized, including mouldings. Fortunately I had some assistance from a friend in the form of an Outback for all the trips to Home Depot, but as a car free resident I have to wonder how I would have transported many of these things without that help. I do have a cargo trailer with about a 180lb limit, and I've even used it to move myself (it took 14 trips, but I did it), but I could never take on a project of house sized magnitude with it. On that note, I am planning to rehab the backyard shed in the summer, and will need to move oversized items again, only this time I probably won't have that help. This leads me to the question - how do you guys handle these situations?

I remember an article about a guy who picked up a couple toilets from the airport with his trailer, but I've never seen one that big or even know where to buy it. I can't really afford a cargo bike, though I'm not sure how a bakfiets or xtracycle would handle a full sheet of plywood anyway. I might be able to find a welder that could custom build something, I know there are some around town who advertise. I'm also concerned about trying to figure max weight handling - I don't want to damage my bike with too heavy a load either. With all the extra weight, would it be wise to build a 40 or 48 spoke rear wheel with a wider rim? What about stress placed on the dropouts and frame in general? I'm sure there's more I'll think of once the discussion gets going, but I'm curious about some of these technical details. Thanks!

bonny790
11-22-2010, 05:05 PM
http://www.bikesatwork.com/