PDA

View Full Version : Rain pants...

bonny790
10-14-2009, 02:56 PM
What do you like? I used to have some cheap, non-venting rain pants not designed for cycling. They worked like you'd imagine, kept the rain out and the sweat in. I tend to sweat easily so I just wear my wool knickers, wool socks, and hiking boots and get wet. Comfortable, but wet. I'm a student so I don't have to worry about office wear, but someday it'd be nice not to smell like a wet dog for the first hour or so! I have the Showers Pass jacket that gets worn maybe a dozen times a year, mostly I just wear light wool layers which works great until it really starts pissing. As good as the jacket is and as generous as the venting is, I still sweat unless it's bloody [I]cold[I]! But its supposed to be the best out there. I'm thinking about getting the Showers Pass pants, any thoughts? The hiking boots keep my feet dry except for the water that runs in from the top so that's one reason I also want pants to keep water from coming in from the top.

Thanks

bikieboy
10-15-2009, 06:36 AM
toby, the Showers Pass rainpants are nicely made, but in my experience with them if you sweat in the SP jacket you'll definitely sweat in the rainpants, even more so. It's got to be a pretty steady/heavy rain before I'm willing to don them.

for most conditions, i've started to think raincape - i've played with the cheap chinese $10 version and it's got it's merits as well as limitations (wind is a problem) - they seem to keep you pretty dry, at least as far south as the ankles. City Bikes sells what i imagine might be the uber rain cape, by Carradice - haven't tried it but maybe someone who uses it will offer an opinion? Looks to be very well designed, but not a cheap option.