PDA

View Full Version : New to Bikes, Novara?

EdgeOf17
10-14-2007, 04:52 PM
Hello there,
I am new to the area, from Colorado to Portland for school. Where I came from, commuting on bike was not too popular, but I love the idea and want to commute on my bike around town. Since I am new to biking, I have lots of questions, gear, clothes, etc. I am reading my Oregon Bicycle Manual, that's the first thing!

But first, I need a bike. The bike I have right now is a MTB, but would like something designed for commuting. I now work at REI and receive a discount on the Novara line of bikes. I am currently looking at the '07 Forza. The price is in range for me a after the deep discount. I've done some Googling on it and read some pretty good reviews. Anyone have any opinions here? I will be using it to commute to work downtown, about eight miles round trip and then to school, up to 20 miles round trip. I won't be doing any long distance cycling/racing, yet, I think. The Forza is really the only commuting bike from Novara available right now, I don't have much money.

Is it best to try the bike out for a spin before buying? If so, what exactly am I looking for in a test drive?

Thank you for your input and I look forward to getting into the forums more and more as I learn!

The Forza http://www.rei.com/product/744791

J

K'Tesh
10-15-2007, 12:49 AM
Hello there,
I am new to the area, from Colorado to Portland for school. Where I came from, commuting on bike was not too popular, but I love the idea and want to commute on my bike around town. Since I am new to biking, I have lots of questions, gear, clothes, etc. I am reading my Oregon Bicycle Manual, that's the first thing!

Welcome to Oregon... Always glad to meet another bicyclist...

Suggestions for Gear so you can survive Oregon's weather...hmmm:rolleyes:

FENDERS! Gotta love em!

Lights! Can't have enough (unless you can vaporize cars already)(if you can, lemme know where you found em)