PDA

View Full Version : It finally happened...

geoff
09-26-2007, 09:28 AM
I have been commuting daily for a little over two months now, and I was hit by a car this morning. It happened on SE 52nd between Foster and Powell. I was moving along about 20mph in the gutter, and a guy in a car decided to turn right on to a smaller side street without using his blinker. Fortunately, I anticipated his turn and was able to brake enough and ride parallel to him while he was turning. My front tire touched his car, but my leg scraped across his door. There wasn't any blood, and there wasn't a hard impact, it's just a flesh wound.

At this point, I was unsure if he had finally seen me or not, so I smacked his windshield and yelled. He stopped and was very apologetic. I checked over my bike and no damage was done, so I reiterated that he needs to pay attention because he could have killed me. Then we parted ways.

I have a scrape across my leg that feels like it is burning, but Iíll be back out on my bike tomorrow!!

jake_m
09-26-2007, 12:03 PM
Way to go on sticking with it.

I've had a couple of close calls in the past week or so too. I think the key really is to get back on the bike. It sounds cheesy, but it's true.

Stay safe.

09-26-2007, 05:22 PM
Dude, same thing happened to me a week ago. Some guy got impatient waiting in a line of traffic and turned right into a parking lot. He didn't hit me because he forced me into the curb and I ate a whole lot of pavement. My bike wasn't damaged but my arm looks like I took a cheese grater to it repeatedly. The guy was also very unaware and apologetic as in your case.

I'm also new to commuting, about 2 months as well. I'm slowly realizing how careless people are. I'm a little worried now since I wanna keep commuting all winter long. But on the other hand maybe people drive more safely in the rain?

Well, cheers for first close calls for new riders!

fetishridr
09-26-2007, 07:45 PM