PDA

View Full Version : Share The Road Or Stay Off It!

stoop
08-31-2007, 07:10 PM
I ride a road bike daily.
I also drive a car for a living.
I stop at stop signs on my bike and in my car, I dont tailgate on my bike or in my car, I use my turn signals(bike & car), I yield to pedestrians(bike & car), I wear a helmet (bike), because I'm not suicidal. I use my lights at night (bike & car).
On my bike I use the bike routes and stay off busy streets when possible, because I'm not obnoxious, suicidal and I dont need the attention.
I respect life and enjoy riding my bike and driving my car.
I must be an idiot.
Sincerely, Stoop

mcubed
09-01-2007, 04:30 AM
Well, from what I've seen lately, I'd say you're the exception.

I've been disheartened by how many pedestrians stop for me when I'm riding my bike, even though they are in/approaching a crosswalk and clearly have the right-of-way. I stop. They stop. I smile and say or motion for them to continue. They do, in a somewhat shocked state.

This tells me that my experience as a pedestrian isn't unique; that there are many pedestrians out there who have become used to cyclists speeding past them, ignoring the rules of the road (which so many cyclists seem to think should apply to everyone but them), overconfident in their manoeuvrability. I've spend about 25 years primarily as a pedestrian (mostly in NYC) and less than a year as a cyclist (and never a regular driver -- never owned a car) and my only collision ever was with a cyclist on a multi-use path. I was on foot. I thought maybe my perspective was somewhat skewed by my own personal history, but I'm realizing as I get more experience as a cyclist that it isn't. The obvious conclusion is that the group with the most blatant disregard for sharing the road is cyclists.