PDA

View Full Version : Does the US Make Bikes

umsl9178
08-08-2007, 03:31 PM
I'm new to cycling. I was looking at buying a bike. I commented to the vendor they all say made in China. The vendor commented, they are all made in China. Does anyone see this as an issue? Does the US make a good bike? :(

fetishridr
08-08-2007, 04:08 PM
cannondale, felt, comotion, burley, vanilla, to name a few.

when will people recognise that everything they buy is likely to be manufactured outside of the US. why is that a surprise?

pick up "The World is Flat" by Tom Friedman and quit yer bitchin!

PDXGS
08-08-2007, 04:12 PM
I'm new to cycling. I was looking at buying a bike. I commented to the vendor they all say made in China. The vendor commented, they are all made in China. Does anyone see this as an issue? Does the US make a good bike? :(

Yes, there are a number of bikes made in the US.
The are generally on the higher end of the quality and price range. If you want inexpensive it's not likely to be made in the USA. Mostly high-end, hand-built frames with Japanese or Euro components.

rubbish heap
08-08-2007, 06:56 PM
felt = taiwan.

there are a few small custom framebuilders that are very famous making frames in the US. don walker, richard sachs, vanilla, etc. your best bet, if it's important that you have a "made in the us" bike, is to get it custom built ($$$). than put some phil wood / chris king / thomson components on it... but it'd be hard to make an entirely "made in the u.s.a." bike.

mizake
08-09-2007, 07:13 AM
Check out Ti Cycles. They're a Seattle-based, custom bike-building company that's been around since 1990. Very experienced.

http://www.ticycles.com/

nuovorecord
08-09-2007, 08:57 AM
Waterfords are built in America. Also a few high-end Treks (like the Madone series, I believe) are still made domestically.