PDA

View Full Version : what services would increase # & destinations of cyclists?

Brian Lacy
08-01-2007, 10:48 AM
Hello Portland pro-cyclist community! I’m seeking the input from riders (and riders who’d like to talk with their wanna-be cycling friends) about what they think will encourage more riders and types of riders to bike more often and to more destinations. Possible reasons might be:
1. not comfortable/confident riding (2 million cars, 20 dogs, some railroad tracks, etc.)
2. bike not working well or feels painful to ride
3. fear of a flat tire along the way
4. clothing issues
5. ??
Why am I interested in knowing? I’m planning to start a project that will fill identified unmet needs in the areas of bicycle repair, handling skills, confidence, and general camaraderie. Hearing your impressions will really help.
As for “who is this guy”, I have more than 15 years experience as a teacher of bicycle mechanics, and I ride daily in Portland . I have been a bike mechanic mostly on at times off since ’80, started the Community Cycling Center in ’94, and have taught many classes since then, mostly to kids in my daughter’s school, but also in low-income elementary and middle schools throughout the area, as a volunteer.

The best way to reach me is at bikeempowered@yahoo.com, though I can also be reached if needed at 503.975.2391. Many thanks in advance, Brian (Lacy).

lynnef
08-01-2007, 02:20 PM
I'm happy to ride anywhere. However, the lack of proper bike parking does put me off from doing so. "Proper bike parking" = not stuck away in a low traffic corner, good visibility from entrance of business, something solidly attached to lock to.

The Cedar Hills New Seasons gets it. The Cedar Hills Winco does not. I take my bike in the store with me when I shop Winco. (Now you know where I shop on the commute home :-) )

Haven_kd7yct
08-01-2007, 03:25 PM
Cleaner bike lanes (glass, trash, reflector bits, landscape debris, etc);